Published on utahutes.com April, 2017

SALT LAKE CITY – The University of Utah celebrated the grand opening of the Spence Eccles Ski Team Building and Utah’s 2017 NCAA Championship on Wednesday, April 26.

“The opening of the Spence Eccles Ski Team Building is truly a terrific milestone for us!” Utah Director of Skiing Kevin Sweeney said. “It is hard to find the right words to express my sincere appreciation for all the hard work and donor commitments that have made this possible. It is an honor to have the building named after ski team alumni and NCAA All-American Spence Eccles, who has been intimately involved with the project since its inception. The building is stunning in every aspect. I am honored to call this our new home on campus. No doubt it will aid in our preparation, performance and recruiting.”

Construction began on the two-story, 5,931 square-foot building in June, 2016, and the Utes will begin moving in in the coming days.

“My family and I are thrilled that we could play a part in this fantastic new facility, and I’m humbled to have it bear this Ogden boy’s name,” said Eccles, who was the lead donor for the building. “This day marks the fulfillment of a dream that began clear back when I competed on the Ute Ski Team in the 1950s. Now, to have this opening right on the heels of the team’s 11th national NCAA Championship last month, it just shows you what a tradition of excellence we’re building on! This new ‘home’ for our Ute ski program will be great not only for the team’s growing national and international reputation, but also for our ability to continue to recruit and compete at the highest levels.”

The ground floor enters into a lobby holding the Alf Engen Sportsmanship Award bowl, a ski-themed chandelier and a commemorative donor plaque. A film study room and lounge for the student-athletes also holds a small office for private study and meetings, as well as plaques commemorating Olympians and All-Americans. Men’s and women’s custom locker rooms for dry gear storage open into Nordic and alpine team rooms with tuning tables and ski and boot storage for each team.

On the second level, a large board room is available for team meetings and also serves as a trophy room, holding Utah’s NCAA trophies along with a plaque commemorating Utah’s individual national champions. The table features a three-dimensional map identifying the ski areas of the Wasatch mountains. A balcony with views of the mountains and the city is also available for gatherings.

The exterior of the building has parking areas for the ski team vehicles, as well as a canopy to keep the vehicles covered. Additional storage is available in the building’s basement.

The building is located north of the McCarthey Family Track and Field, between the track and Dumke Family Softball Stadium.

Ski team alumni made up a significant portion of the donors and funds raised. Multiple donors took advantage of naming opportunities. A list of those donors follows:
Jim Gaddis Board Room (Jim and Barbara Gaddis)
Jon Quitiquit Film Room
Gordon Family Women’s Locker Room
Thor Kallerud Men’s Locker Room (Thor E. and Barbie Kallerud)
Trygve Mikkelsen Nordic Team Room
Scott Hutcheson Alpine Team Room
Pete and Jeanine Karns Lobby
The George S. and Dolores Dore Eccles Foundation Mezzanine

Other notable donors include:
Helen and Jeff Cardon
Jesse and Ann Lassley
Ron and Julie Steele
Oyvind and Susan Solvang
Darm Penney
Greg Norton
Scott Machinery Company
Petra Svet and Jernej Bukovec

Lockers have been purchased in honor of:
Scott ‘Woody’ Woodland 1998-2003
Ski Team Mom Barbara Yamada
Marvin and Renee Melville
Alan and Barbara Engen
Mike Elvidge
Scott Hoffman 1981 NCAA Slalom Champion
Runa Skyttersaeter
Pat Miller
Henning Ruud
Per Chr. Nicolaisen “Nico”
Fred Duberow 1968-1972
Katrina Terzian 1983-1987
Dr. Monica McDonald 1983-1985, In loving memory of F. James McDonald
Sabrina (Lawrence) Leunig 1997-2001
Markus Leunig & The North Face 1996-1999

Fundraising committee:
Spence Eccles
Jim Gaddis
Kevin Sweeney
Thor Kallerud
Trygve Mikkelsen
Ron Steele
Jesse Lassley
Darm Penny
Fred Duberow
Marv Melville
Mike Elvidge
Runa Skyttersaeter
Barbara Yamada
Dana Evan
Mark Anderson
Abi Holt
Jaka Korencan
Jon Quitiquit
Alan Engen
Per Chr. Nicolaisen
Henning Rudd
Gregory Thompson
Bente Dahlum


Share this page now.